Shoeaholic No More



January 2015



My Typical Day Balancing Work and Freelancing

Written by , Posted in Business

This article may contain affiliate links. Read our Disclosure Policy.

I just read Cat’s 5th typical day post and was inspired to do an update of my own typical day. I’ve talked about my typical day once before, but this was right before I started freelancing online. A few things have changed since then, namely because I’ve taken on a ton more writing and online work. Here’s a quick recap of my typical day pre-freelancing:

6:00am-6:15am: Wake Up, get ready for a walk

6:15am-7:00am: Walk one of my dogs (I rotate them each day)

7:00am-8:00am: Get ready and go to work

8:00am-12:00pm: Work at work, blog during my breaks

12:00pm-1:00pm: Lunch at home, usually with my dad or brother, check in with my blog, blog reading

1:00pm-5:00pm: Work at work, blog during my breaks

5:00pm-5:15pm: Get ready for Crossfit

5:15pm-6:15pm: Warm up, Workout, Cool down

6:15pm-10:00pm: Shower, Supper, Household chores/yard work/volunteer meeting/home business appointments/blogging

10:00pm-10:30pm: Wind down, get ready for bed

10:30pm-6:00am – Sleep

Now that I’ve got more on my plate, my days start much, much earlier.

5:15 am-6:40am: Wake up, get ready for Crossfit and workout

6:40-8:00 am: Cool down, shower, and get ready for work. I can’t shower right away because I tend to pass out if I get too hot. So usually, I let my dogs outside when I first get home. Then I shower and fix a quick breakfast for my self, aka grab a greek yogurt and maybe cut an apple. I usually eat my breakfast while I fix my hair and put on my makeup. Then I rush out of my house at about 7:55 to get to work at 8:00.


Awkward selfie!

8:00am-12:00pm: Work on the accumulating pile of papers on my desk at work and try to ignore my social media, blogs, and email accounts (sometimes unsuccessfully). During our slow times of the year, I sometimes sneak in a little blog work during this time too.

12:00pm-1:00pm: Lunch at my house. Usually we just have leftovers for lunch, but sometimes I have a crock pot meal ready to go for lunch (if I didn’t workout that morning). I try to use a few minutes of my lunch responding to emails or blog comments. I also let my dogs go outside over my lunch break and they get to run around in the yard for close to an hour, which they love!

1:00pm-5:00pm: Work some more at work. I usually get burned out around 4:00 and take short break to read my fave blogs for about 15-20 minutes. Then I use the last half hour, or so, at work to finish up anything I can and get my desk reasonably cleaned off before the end of the day. Again, if it’s the slow time of year at my FT job, I do get some blog work in during this time too.

5:00pm-10:00pm: When I get home, I immediately let my dogs outside again and I change into pajamas. (Doesn’t everyone do that? My parents always give me a weird look when they see me in my pajamas at 5:30 at night.) I start cooking supper and then eat while working at my computer. I continue to work on writing for my blog and my writing jobs for as long as possible. Sometimes my brain gets fried, at which point I work on some other tasks that don’t take as much brain power, like VA tasks.

10:00pm: This is always my goal for when to go to bed. Now that I get up earlier, I sometimes don’t make it till 10 and end up going to bed a little earlier. I do like to read or watch a little TV, but most nights I end up passing out after about 5 minutes anyway.

Unlike last time, my weekend schedule has become a lot more varied. I usually have a 6 hour shift at my part-time job at some point on Saturday or Sunday. Most Saturday nights are spent with my friends, and I sleep in pretty late on Sunday. I also go to the grocery store and do all my household chores (cleaning, laundry, etc) on the weekends. I try to spend a few hours blogging/freelancing at some point each weekend, but it doesn’t always happen. I also try to take a few hours to just chill at home with my dogs, watching TV and snuggling or playing with them to re-charge before the work week starts all over again.

What’s your typical day like?

The following two tabs change content below.


Kayla is a mid-20s single girl living in the Midwest, USA. She is focused on paying off her consumer and student loans, while simplifying her life and closet. You can join her on her journey at ShoeaholicNoMore or follow her on Twitter.


    • Kayla @ Shoeaholicnomore
  1. Amy
    • Kayla @ Shoeaholicnomore
    • Kayla @ Shoeaholicnomore
    • Kayla @ Shoeaholicnomore
    • Kayla @ Shoeaholicnomore
    • Kayla @ Shoeaholicnomore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *